AWESOME AAPIs IN YOUR COMMUNITY: Leo Li

Leo Li

We’re excited to kickoff a new project called “Awesome AAPIs In Your Community!” where we will shine the spotlight on members of the AAPI Democratic Club and the awesome work they are doing in San Diego. We are pleased to introduce our first segment on Leo Li!

Who are you?

My name is Leo Li, and I am a high school senior at The Bishop’s School in La Jolla.

Why are you a Democrat?

I am a Democrat because I believe in progressive ideals.  I think that government can help shape a better society. I think climate change is a serious problem that needs to be addressed. I believe a woman has the right to choose and everyone has the right to marry who they love. Banks should not be too big to fail, the underprivileged should have access to affordable healthcare, and every worker has the right to a living wage.

What experience or issue first got you interested in politics?

I think I’ve always been interested in politics. I remember being fascinated by the 2008 presidential election, and especially Senator Barack Obama. But around 2012 I began actively following the elections and politics. Then I decided to get involved and make a difference locally. I began volunteering for campaigns like Congressman Peters’ reelection campaign and causes here in San Diego.

What advice would you give to someone wanting to get more involved in politics, particularly young AAPIs?

Just because you’re young, doesn’t mean you can’t make a difference! Always strive to help with causes that matter to you, volunteer for candidates and organizations that inspire you. But most of all, be intrinsically motivated to make your community a better place.

Why are you excited for the AAPIs Assemble: Building Power In Our Community Fundraiser?

The fundraiser will be the first step in a larger mission to get the community engaged and involved! It will be amazing to see and meet everyone who is and is willing to contribute to their communities and make a difference in people’s lives. And who doesn’t want to meet John Chiang and Betty Yee?

To join CA State Treasurer John Chiang and CA State Controller Betty Yee at the AAPIs Assemble: Building Power In Our Community Fundraiser, click here! Tickets are $40 for admission and $25 for students.

